0

I'm currently running 3.6-alpha-23495 and want to go back to the latest stable (currently 3.5.1).

The site is now up and running.

The reason that I'm going to downgrade is that the following error is appearing:

Fatal error: Allowed memory size of 33554432 bytes exhausted
(tried to allocate 311296 bytes) in
/home/USERNAME/public_html/wp-includes/SimplePie/Misc.php
on line 843

I have added ini_set('memory_limit', '64M'); to wp-config.php to execute the command everywhere, and also added the code at the top of /wp-includes/SimplePie/Misc.php, but still no luck.

Anyway I think that the best way to avoid facing with these errors is downgrading to the latest stable version.

Ant ideas? Thank you

2
  • 1
    First step: do you have a backup of the database?
    – brasofilo
    Mar 15, 2013 at 20:42
  • @brasofilo thank you for your comment. Yes, I do have the backup.
    – smhnaji
    Mar 15, 2013 at 21:00

1 Answer 1

1

The steps are mostly from this Codex article, Updating_WordPress#Manual_Update, but in this case a prior database backup is essential.

This is what I do:

  1. Upload the latest WordPress version to a temporary folder, /public_html/new-wp

  2. This upload should not contain the folder /wp-content nor the file wp-config.php.

  3. If you can, create another database and import the old backup. And in such case, prepare another wp-config.php with the new DB_NAME information.

  4. If another database is not possible, backup its contents just in case, drop all the tables and import the backup.

  5. Move all WordPress files (the nightly build) to a temporary folder, e.g., /public_html/old-wp. Don't move the folder /wp-content nor the file wp-config.php.

  6. Move the new version (/public_html/new-wp) to the root.

  7. Confirm everything is working and delete the /old-wp folder.

Important notes:

  • Decide for step 3 or 4 beforehand.

  • Backup everything before starting, plugin suggestion: BackWPup. Or if your cPanel supports it, zip the whole /public_html folder or the files you deem necessary.

  • I prefer to move files instead of deleting, this is faster when using a FTP client. And when everything is done, I proceed to deletion. Note that WebFTP is much more faster for deleting files than a regular application.

1
  • Thank you very much, that should be the way to go. It will prefer the 3rd step over 4th.
    – smhnaji
    Mar 16, 2013 at 7:38

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.