0

I have a plugin (my first major one) and I have some registered settings that are no longer needed. I would like to have these old settings removed from the database to tidy things up and not confuse users with the new settings that will be in the options table.

I set them like this:

register_setting('general_section', 'nav_option_one');
register_setting('general_section', 'nav_option_two');

When I tried to remove them with unregister_setting() nothing seemed to happen (at least on the DB):

unregister_setting('general_section', 'nav_option_one');
unregister_setting('general_section', 'nav_option_two');

I then when about it with delete_option() and it removed the row from the DB as expected. However, I am concerned I am missing something.

Can you please let me know what the best method of removing old options settings from the database and what's supposed to happen when using unregister_setting() is used? I tried looking it up, but no help there: https://developer.wordpress.org/reference/functions/unregister_setting/

1 Answer 1

1

register_setting() / unregister_setting() are used to let WordPress know that it should allow / remove a given setting name—to set up the "allowed options" list, etc. You're telling WordPress that the setting my_name will exist, and that it is allowed to be used by the Settings API.

add_option() / delete_option() actually do the work of adding / removing the value of the my_name setting (or option) from the database.

If you've changed the way your plugin sets up its data, you might need to use delete_option() to remove the data that's already been stored. However, if you're registering different settings, you shouldn't need to use unregister_setting() on the old ones, since the allowed settings list isn't stored in the database.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service and acknowledge you have read our privacy policy.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.