On one client WordPress site, when I update any plug-ins, all files and directories within that plug-in get their permissions automatically set to 766 - which means they aren't accessible by the website. I then have to go in manually and change permissions. I've not come across this behaviour on any other website.
Does anyone know why this might be happening, and how I can prevent it?!