0

In My WordPress dashboard at update-core.php, it says:

An updated version of WordPress is available.

You can update to WordPress 5.3–en_GB automatically:

[Upgrade button]

(This localised version contains both the translation and various other localisation fixes. You can skip upgrading if you want to keep your current translation.)

You can update to WordPress 5.3–en_US automatically:

[Upgrade button]

Why does my WordPress installation show this localised version upgrade? and how can I turn it off?

2
  • Is this a problem? Nov 13, 2019 at 10:27
  • No, It's not a problem. I would say it is a very minor usability smell. We wanted to upgrade WordPress but we didn't know which Upgrade button to click. I wanted to make it easier next time, so I wanted to disable the localization so there is only one upgrade button. Now I know how. I posted the question to help others in the same situation in the future.
    – Tom
    Nov 14, 2019 at 17:43

1 Answer 1

0

In the General Settings page there is a "Site Language" option - if you select "English (United States)" and Save Changes, the localised version upgrade option will disappear. Selecting any other Language option will localise WordPress.

enter image description here

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.