0

In the Wordpress update instructions, it is strongly instructed to deactivate all plugins before manually updating Wordpress' core.

Why is that necessary ?

What are the potential consequences if I don't ?

  • 1
    These instructions only appear to be relevant when updating from a version older than 3.7: "Please note that WordPress 3.7 introduced an easy to use one-button updater which will take you directly to 5.1.1. This update step is safe, and it is possible to one-click update from 3.7 to any later version." – Jacob Peattie Apr 24 at 7:57

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.