0

So if I deleted a theme, then changed my mind later and decided to install the same theme again, would the customizer settings I had configured be deleted, or would they be saved so I still have them when I re-install the theme?

1

Short answer: No, your settings will not be deleted. They will be available next time you install the theme.

Long answer: There are 2 ways a theme can store its settings in the database: options and theme_mods. If they use options, then inside the wp_option table in the database there will probably be an option called {$theme-name} or {$theme-name}_options etc. It's up to the theme author what option name they choose. If they use theme_mods, inside the wp_options table in your database there will be a theme_mods_{$theme-name} entry containing all the options.

When a theme gets deactivated these options are not deleted by default, and WordPress keeps them there for future use.

There is a way for themes to delete their options on deactivation (see the switch_theme action) but it's rarely used and there's no reason any theme author would use it to delete the theme settings on deactivation - unless it's a custom use-case.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.