1

Every now and then WP logs me out and a pop-up requires me to log back in. After this happens and I am back in, I try to save some changes to a page I'm working on, but there is an error like "Are you sure you want to do that?"

I return to the page and there is an admin notice:

The backup of this post in your browser is different from the version below. Restore the backup.

I click the link and the message is

Post restored successfully. Undo.

However I can't see any changes. The editor view doesn't change or refresh. In fact, if I try to leave the page, I'm warned about navigating away. If I do so anyway, the same admin notice appears when I return/refresh. If I instead click update, then the last version is saved. I've been searching unsuccessfully, how can I actually restore the 'local storage' backup?

(WP 4.4.1, Avada theme)

  • Have you tried with a default theme? Avada is a hell of a complex beast (that by the way does things in a theme that plugins should be doing) and you better be sure that this really is a WP issue and not an Avada one. – kraftner Feb 8 '16 at 16:37
  • I figured it out. It might very well be Avada! The notice is unhelpful and misleading, so I was stuck for a while. – Drakes Feb 8 '16 at 16:39
1

This notice isn't helpful. On the same page there is something like:

Revisions: 29 Browse

After you have clicked Restore the backup, you can click on Browse. This will take you to the revisions of the page. If you move the slider all the way to the right, it will display an [Autosave] revision. You can click Restore This Revision to recover the autosave version.

Note: I can't confirm nor deny this, but it could be an Avada theme issue.

  • You can edit questions and answers. – kaiser Feb 21 '16 at 19:48

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.