1

When WordPress does plugin/theme/core updates, it creates a .maintenance file which temporarily puts the site in maintenance mode. Sometimes this file does not get deleted and users are locked out of their site (until they search and find that they have to delete that file).

As plugin developer it's frustrating because I regularly get blamed for breaking their site.

My question: Under which circumstances is the file not deleted? Is there anything I, as a plugin developer, can do to avoid it?

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.