0

I just moved my WordPress 3.9 site to a different host by making a mysql dump and restoring it on the new server and uploading the files over. Pretty standard.

However, now I've lost the ability to manage users. On the old server, the left hand menu in the dashboard reads

  • Appearance
  • Plugins
  • Users
  • etc...

But the new site reads,

  • Appearance
  • Plugins
  • Profile
  • etc...

If I manually try to navigate to the /wp-admin/users.php page, I get the "Cheatin', huh?" message.

I checked the wp_usermeta table and it is exactly the same on the new database as the old database. What happened? How do I restore the user management section.

3
  • Did tou change the table prefix? Apr 28, 2014 at 14:15
  • Yes. I changed the prefix, but I also updated the usermeta table to use the updated table prefix. Maybe I should change it back?
    – Jeff
    Apr 28, 2014 at 14:17
  • 1
    So you changed all meta keys for [old_prefix]_capabilities to [new_prefix]_capabilities? Don't forget the same for [prefix]_user_level as well as [prefix]_roles in the options table! Apr 28, 2014 at 17:04

0

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service and acknowledge you have read our privacy policy.

Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.