0

I seen update messages as like "There is a new version of BLAH PLUGIN available on BLAH SITE. View version 3.1.3 details or automatically update" on plugin list page and themes listing page before install the Disable WordPress Updates plugin.

I thought after installed the plugin these lines will be removed. But it was not.

How can i remove these updates text from plugin list or themes list page?

  • They vanish automagically after the update. – fuxia May 27 '13 at 13:42
  • But i have customized some coding in that plugin. What if my client clicks on the "automatically update" link. All the changes which i done in that plugin will be lost? – siddiq May 27 '13 at 13:51
1

Add define('DISALLOW_FILE_MODS',true); to your wp-config.php file.

This will block users being able to use the plugin and theme installation/update functionality from the WordPress admin area. Setting this constant also disables the Plugin and Theme editor (i.e. you don't need to set DISALLOW_FILE_MODS and DISALLOW_FILE_EDIT, as on it's own DISALLOW_FILE_MODS will have the same effect).

http://codex.wordpress.org/Editing_wp-config.php#WordPress_Upgrade_Constants

The messages go away as well. I just tested it. Note: This also disable the file editor, which, in my opinion makes it doubleplusgood.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.