WordPress Development Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for WordPress developers and administrators. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

I have noticed after deleting an original page in WordPress with lets say a permalink of your_domain.com/contact/ and then trying to recreate the same page with the same name/slug, my WP is generating a "-2" at the end of the link, like: your_domain.com/contact-2/.

I don't understand why, since the original page was deleted. Why is WordPress treating new pages as if the original still exists? How to I clean WP caches, if such a thing even exists?
Thank you ahead of time for clearing this up for me.

share|improve this question

migrated from stackoverflow.com Mar 31 '13 at 13:29

This question came from our site for professional and enthusiast programmers.

Delete the page permanently from the Trash.

As long as it lives in the Trash, the post exists with status 'trash'.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.