Take the 2-minute tour ×
WordPress Development Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for WordPress developers and administrators. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Yesterday I updated my wordpress seo by yoast plugin to version 1.2.8.4 from version 1.2.7 and my admin panel is messed up. I searched through the support forum but the plugin author hasn't replied to the existing threads related to same update issues.

So I think roll back to previous version of plugin would be the best option until a fix to the above issue is not released by the plugin option.

I have database backup files and my home directory backup files available with me. I searched in wordpress forums but couldn't find exact details on how do I roll back my plugin update.

Can someone here guide me with the procedure or refer me to a solution?

share|improve this question

migrated from stackoverflow.com Sep 20 '12 at 13:15

This question came from our site for professional and enthusiast programmers.

1 Answer 1

Unless the plugin has made significant database changes, you could follow these steps to downgrade it:

  1. Download and extract the old version from the plugin repository
  2. Disable the plugin
  3. Log on to your server with FTP or SSH
  4. Upload the old plugin directory to wp-content/plugins/. (You would want to overwrite the newer version.)
  5. Reactivate the plugin

Here's SEO by Yoast version 1.2.7

share|improve this answer
    
In addition to this, you can go back to any previous version of the plugin. Here's the link for downloads - wordpress.org/extend/plugins/wordpress-seo/developers –  Ronak Gandhi Sep 19 '12 at 5:14
    
Thanks.. I will overwrite previous plugin files and database –  Keshav Sep 20 '12 at 4:49
    
I did exactly as suggested by Misund but the admin panel is still messed up. I even restored my old database but to no effect. Deactivating the plugin solves all issues. But I don't know why it's still happening even now when I have rolled back to version 1.2.7? –  Keshav Sep 20 '12 at 5:38
    
So you have restored your files to the way they were when everything was fine, and also restored your database to the way it was when everything was fine? In that case, everything should be fine. Have you changed anything else? –  Just Thomas Misund Sep 21 '12 at 21:46

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.