Take the 2-minute tour ×
WordPress Development Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for WordPress developers and administrators. It's 100% free, no registration required.

We have a situation where a couple of our longstanding plugins (Google Analytics is one) are currently offering the option to "Activate" them.

This figures, because Google Analytics traffic stopped dead a while back. So it seems as if it did turn itself off. Is this possible?

Can the plugin's original author issue an update or something which causes it to go wrong and deactivate?

Or do we have to assume someone deactivated it by mistake?

share|improve this question
    
Technically speaking, it can but I don't see why someone would build this functionality. –  Ashfame May 3 '12 at 17:05
add comment

1 Answer

up vote 3 down vote accepted

As far as I know, a plugin can be deactivated in these conditions:

  • manual deactivation
  • failed plugin upgrade
  • remove or rename the containing folder
  • changing the active plugin list in the database

Hopefully someone else will come through and add to this if I missed any.

share|improve this answer
    
so none of these can happen without human intervention on the part of the website owner, as I read it. unless your (2) failed plugin upgrade can be the result of a scheduled or automatic upgrade. –  hawbsl May 23 '12 at 9:29
    
can the plugin author issue a plugin update (which could fail) unbeknownst to the website owner? –  hawbsl May 23 '12 at 9:30
    
Well, if you're the only one with the capability of updating plugins, then yes - all require human intervention at some point. I'm not aware of any plugins that are able to update themselves, though. Wordpress will check for updates, but AFAIK it's always up to an end user to decide whether or not to run the update. Often when updating plugins, we don't check to see the 'success' or 'failed' message, especially in a bulk update (updating several plugins at once). That would be my first instinct. –  SickHippie May 23 '12 at 16:11
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.