Take the 2-minute tour ×
WordPress Development Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for WordPress developers and administrators. It's 100% free, no registration required.

If I sign up for a Wordpress blog that is hosted for free by Wordpress here, who will own the content I post, and how much storage will I have? I know I could ask their customer support, but I don't trust companies (their lawyers specifically).

share|improve this question

closed as off topic by s_ha_dum, birgire, kaiser, toscho May 9 '13 at 17:33

Questions on WordPress Development Stack Exchange are expected to relate to WordPress within the scope defined by the community. Consider editing the question or leaving comments for improvement if you believe the question can be reworded to fit within the scope. Read more about reopening questions here.If this question can be reworded to fit the rules in the help center, please edit the question.

    
The terms of service for WordPress.com are here: en.wordpress.com/tos –  anu Apr 26 '11 at 15:29
    
Voting to close. This has nothing to do with the administration of a WordPress site. Your paranoia doesn't make this the right place for this question. –  John P Bloch Apr 26 '11 at 15:47
2  
You trust random people on the Internet? :) –  Jeff Apr 26 '11 at 21:29
    
@John: Whether we allow WP.com questions was discussed on meta - multiple times - and the outcome is not very clear. Because this question got a quick answer, I don't think we have to close it. –  Jan Fabry Apr 27 '11 at 10:39
1  
@Rarst It's not that I think it's a bad question; it's that I think it's a question that doesn't belong here, since it's a question about Automattic's policies, not about WordPress. –  John P Bloch Apr 27 '11 at 13:52

2 Answers 2

up vote 5 down vote accepted

From the TOS:

By submitting Content to Automattic for inclusion on your Website, you grant Automattic a world-wide, royalty-free, and non-exclusive license to reproduce, modify, adapt and publish the Content solely for the purpose of displaying, distributing and promoting your blog. If you delete Content, Automattic will use reasonable efforts to remove it from the Website, but you acknowledge that caching or references to the Content may not be made immediately unavailable.

It means that you own it but they have full rights.

share|improve this answer
    
Thankyou! I want to friend you. –  Joe Hobbit Apr 27 '11 at 18:08

For storage: you can upload up to 3 gigabytes of attachments for free, and can pay for upgrades after that. I think post content has no limit (and it would be very hard to reach 3 gigabytes with post content alone).

share|improve this answer

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.